Helen McCall

Helen McCall dedicated her life to providing competitive athletic experiences for high school girls. She was not only the founder of the Colorado Women’s Coaches Association (later known as CCGS), but she was also the first president, the editor of The Coaches’ Comment, and served on numerous CWCA committees. Helen taught and coached at Ranum High School, Denver University, and Westminister High School. Prior to the establishment of CHSAA competition for girls, Helen provided competitive experiences for high school athletes by establishing an AAU track, basketball, and volleyball teams, and AAU and USGF gymnastics teams at these schools.

Helen was instrumental in creating the Skyline League Women’s Coaches Assoc. and organizing the collegiate Rocky Mountain League for women’s athletics. In state competition, her basketball teams placed second in ’76, third in ’78, and qualified in ’80. She organized and conducted many volleyball, basketball, track, and gymnastics clinics for officials, coaches, and athletes. When CHSAA established girls’ team sports, Helen served on the basketball rules committee and conducted regional and state competitions. Her contributions to girls’ sports vastly increased the knowledge and expertise of a generation of athletes and coaches.

Helen was a graduate of the University of Florida and taught physical education in Colorado for 21 years. She was an honored member of the CCGS Hall of Fame, a recipient of the Sportswomen of Colorado’s Dorothy Mauk Pioneer Award, and posthumously most recently the CHSAA Hall of Fame.
In memory of Helen and her numerous contributions to girls sports in Colorado, The Committee of Helen’s Friends has established the Helen D McCall Memorial Award to honor coaches, officials, or athletic directors who have followed in Helen’s footsteps providing high school girls throughout the state quality programs in which to compete, and sharing their knowledge openly throughout the state.

The following is the nomination criteria for the Helen McCall Memorial Coach of the Year Award:
A person who is involved in girls sports
A person who promotes good sportsmanship, promotes the total student-athlete, and is a positive role model for the female athlete
A person who is actively involved in increasing his/her knowledge of athletics
A person who has been active in athletics for a minimum of 10 years

Helen McCall Memorial Winners
“Coach of the Year”

Lo Hunter, Evergreen ‘92
Darlene Linder, Skyview ‘93
Marilyn Wilcox, Golden ‘94
Mary Kvamme, Arvada West ‘95
Chris Beal, Lasley Elem ‘96
Mary McBride, Brighton ‘97
Betsy Freeman-Allen, East ‘98
Sue Snyder, Simla ‘99
Vicci Carricato, Loveland ‘00
Judy Beardsly, Merino ‘01
Sally Moos, Cherry Creek ‘02
Pam Fagerlund, Flagler ‘03
Pat Latta, Skyview ‘04
Leslie Moore, DPS ‘05
T. R. Ellis, Chaparral ‘06
Terri Ward, Niwot ‘07
Bonnie Wallen-Kuntz, Otis ‘08
Caryn Jarocki, Highlands Ranch ‘09
Bridget O’Connor, Manitou Sps. ‘10
Kerry Sayles, Hi Plains, ‘11
Gail Hook, Monarch ‘12
Lisa Schumacher, Sterling ‘13
Shane Forrest, Montrose ‘14
Wendy Hall, Steamboat Springs ‘15
Susan Odenbaugh, Lewis-Palmer ‘16

Nominations should be sent to: Laura Fischer, 2350 Brentwood, Lakewood, CO 80214 (303-909-9221) or email to Please include how the nominee’s contributions have influenced the school’s program, a state tournament, and throughout the state. Nominations are accepted by January 1 of each year.

Powered by WordPress. Designed by WooThemes